What a picture is worth.

A million words could not express what is said in this one picture.

This is John Unger and his 19 year old dog Schoep. They’ve been together since John rescued Schoep at 8 months old and have done everything together. Schoep has arthritis and swimming in a warm Lake Superior soothes him so John takes him there and swims with him. It’s so soothing that Schoep often falls asleep in his Daddy’s arms.

So often when we adopt a young pet it’s all about what they’ll do for you. Not long after the tables turn and it becomes all about what we’ll do for them. Their time on this earth is say too short. Whatever they want, we’ll indulge them. Playing with that squeaky or throwing that ball as long as they want us to seems such a small price to pay, such a small favor to ask of us. We do what ever we can to make their lives happy. And when they get older and we start to panic over how limited their time on earth remains, we do whatever we can to ease their pain.

From the moment they enter our lives we know it will hurt unbearably when they leave us. They never leave us of their own volition. If they had their way they’d stay with us forever. Despite all this, we still open our arms to them. Because all of the pain is worth the time we have them. It’s worth the love they give us. And if they could talk, I’m sure they’d say it’s worth the love they receive from us.

No amount of words can express the love between man and dog. Millions have been written.

But this photo says more than words could ever express.

What is a picture worth?

This one is priceless.

I’m so grateful to Hannah Stonehouse Hudson that she was able to capture this moment for her friend John Unger.

One Response to What a picture is worth.

  1. savingzeus says:

    This photo is priceless! I think it also shows a big trust bond between owner and dog. To fall asleep in his arms in the water, knowing that his owner will take care of him and not let him sink to the bottom, shows that he trusts this man completely! I agree with you that all the pain at the end of a pets life is worth all the love they give you over the years! I am a big dog lover and have two dogs of my own, Zeus and Lucky. They are so funny, loving, and snuggly! I love them with all of my heart and soul! My name is Melissa Crowley and I am on a mission to save my favorite dog! I have started a blog for my Rottweiler Zeus called Saving Zeus. He has a rare genetic disorder and we are trying to raise funds for the medical tests and treatment that he desperately needs. Also on my blog, I have funny stories and really cute photos of both of my boys. If you would like to make a donation or share our blog to help us save Zeus, or would just like a laugh after reading a funny story, visit my page. Since I am just getting started on my blog, there will be many more stories to come so check back every once in a while!

Leave a Reply

