My Baked Beans

I’ve been meaning to make some baked beans as I’m now no longer buying canned foods, no matter what the FDA says about BPA. So this recipe is down to only using canned tomato paste. Eventually I’ll make my own paste too, but one thing at a time. This uses dried beans, not canned.

 

I was never a big fan of salted pork or big chunks of pork in baked beans so if you are,  you can either stop reading now or just add your own.

 

I am also not a vegetarian (despite my aversion to big chunks of pork) so this can be modified to be vegetarian by using vegetable broth and eliminating the liquid smoke if you are really a stickler. Use brown sugar or maple syrup instead of honey if you won’t even eat animal byproducts.

 

 

My baked beans

 

1.5 cups of beans (pink or white) – soak overnight or boil for an hour.

2 cups beef or chicken broth (I used Beef Better than Bouillon)

1 TBSP olive oil

1/2 onion, chopped

heaping teaspoon chopped garlic

1/2 can tomato paste

2 tsp dry mustard

2 TBSP molasses

2TBSP honey

1 TBSP vinegar (I use apple cider but wine would also work)

Sea Salt to taste

pepper to taste

a few drops of liquid smoke (I use Mesquite)

 

In a large pot, pour olive oil and sauté onion and garlic until transparent. Add everything else and simmer for several hours until beans are tender and sauce has reduced and thickened, 4-8 hours. Can also be done in a crock pot on low overnight or on high for 6-10 hours.

 

Leave a Reply

