Time for a lottery ticket

I’m getting desperate enough that I’m thinking of forgetting the jackpot alerts and just buying a ticket each week regardless.

The local  news is reporting on the district’s fiscal solvency and the state’s ability to pay as promised or possibly cut the budgets mid-year.

It is really depressing.

Not to mention the attacks on our  promised raises in 2012 and 2013. I depend on those to be able to retire. If they take those away, I’ll have to work until I’m 67. Or maybe 72. *IF* I’m not RIFd to make room for those cheap, new teachers straight out of college. (Like there are going to be many of them in the future. I think in a few years there will be very few teachers coming out of universities.)  It will be much better *IF* I could be in a library full time but there is no guarantee of that either. It’s possible the district could demand the prep time program be dismantled as a cost cutting measure as well. Without prep time I’m back in a classroom. No music. No libraries. I don’t want to spend my last few years teaching math to sixth grades hour after hour, day after day, year after  year.

It’s getting so the lottery is my only chance.

Me and the other 99%.

Leave a Reply

