Huffington Post Challenge – Day One

Brunch: Orange Juice, apple pie $0.00 (Thanks, Mom)
Dinner: Sausage, pea soup, Samoas. Sausage was free, Pea soup ingredients purchased in previous weeks. Samoas purchased yesterday, $4.00 for 15. $0.27 each. I ate 3. $0.81

Today is the first day of the Huffington Post Eating In Challenge. The Challenge is to avoid fast food, restaurants and pre-processed food for a week by cooking your own food.

Pretty easy since I’m avoiding that stuff anyway.

I’m also supposed to keep track of expenses to compare, but since I don’t eat fast food, in restaurants or buy pre-processed foods anymore, there isn’t much point. In addition, I did most of my shopping last week and am using what’s in the pantry, refrigerator and freezer this week.

Today I slept in last. Got up around 10:00. Read some e-mail. Then my Mom called to say they’re making sausage at 1pm if I want to come over. Don’t bring the dog.

So I started the pea soup I had planned to cook, put the laundry basket in the car (my Mom offered to do my laundry while I made sausage with my Dad), spent time looking for the sausage making attachment since she couldn’t find hers, found it, then found the family tree for her side of the family in my Bible and spent time inputting the data so I could bring it to her.

Took the soup off the stove, petted the dog and left.

I had a mug of orange juice and a slice of apple pie for “brunch”. Gave the crust to her dog. She had used pie crust out of a box that was outdated so it came out….not so great. That’s OK since I want to cut down on white flour like pie crust anyway.

Then made sausage. My Mom had purchased pork shoulder on sale. A neighbor had brought his meat over for grinding and to make sausage. So we all seasoned our bowls to taste and started making it. I was last. By the time it was my turn the machine wasn’t working so well. I was convinced my Dad put it together wrong. He insisted it was fine. I made him take it apart. I was right. But in the meantime my sausages are full of air and don’t look so good. The last few were OK.

After than I gathered my clean laundry, my bag of sausages and came home.

Had one sausage and my home made split pea soup for dinner. And three girl scout cookies. So sue me. I don’t eat cookies very often. Last week I bought four boxes. The two boxes of thin mints are in the freezer waiting until summer. The tagalongs are in the cupboard. And the Samoas I opened.

For lunches this week I have:
Tuna Salad (3 cans from my Mom) and wheat bread (I baked 2 weeks ago) from the freezer.
Cornish Pasties I made last week. (3 each: lamb, beef, pork)
Pea Soup

I also have broccoli, a carrot and an onion so I can make broccoli barley soup. I have tomatoes (thanks Mom) so I can also make lentil soup. I have chicken and lamb in the freezer. I also have frozen spinach.

I may finally make that spinach feta quiche this week.

All in all, I can get buy with very little purchases this week. Good, because it’s the last week of the month and the checking account is a bit anemic.

Leave a Reply

