There is no such thing as a salmon filet

Just so you know.

They may call it a filet, but I have yet to eat any piece of salmon that doesn’t have at least one bone in it.

This is what I hate about salmon.

But meatless Monday progresses.

Today I had orange juice and Cream of Wheat for breakfast, tuna salad on home made whole wheat bread for lunch, with some mandarin oranges and for dinner baked salmon, peas and basmati rice.

Tomorrow I may have the left over salmon for lunch. Or I may make myself a tuna sandwich. Or I may have a Cornish Pastie. Or pesto deviled eggs.

I went to the store and spent $28.70. (I have $5.00 and change still in my wallet.) Nothing pre-processed (except the orange juice). I had to tell the cashier that is a turnip, that is a leek.

I bought a leek, a turnip, celery, a white rose potato, some beef and pork to go with the lamb I thawed out, a dozen eggs, orange juice and Gladware for storage.

I’m taking the Huffington Post Week of Eating In Challenge.

Don’t eat out for a week. It actually starts next week, but since I’ve been avoiding fast food and pre-processed food, cooking is now what I do pretty much.

I’ll be making soup later this week. The broccoli is still good and I have split peas and lentils in the cupboard.

4 Responses to There is no such thing as a salmon filet

  1. Intriguing , I am curious what the statistics are on your first point there…

    • mlaiuppa says:

      Exactly what kind of statistics do you want?

      This is an anecdotal post, not a masters thesis.

      I buy salmon. I cook it. I eat it. I find a bone.

      They’re supposed to be filet. Filet means no bones. There are bones in the salmon filet.

  2. Wilmington says:

    Good points…I would note that as someone who really doesn’t comment to blogs much (in fact, this may be my first post), I don’t think the term “lurker” is very becoming to a non-posting reader. It’s not your fault at all, but perhaps the blogosphere could come up with a better, non-creepy name for the 90% of us that enjoy just reading the content .

    • mlaiuppa says:

      Lurker has been around over a decade. The terminology isn’t likely to change. At least not to something more warm and fuzzy.

      Who knows where slang comes from. A term is coined and goes viral. Such is the English language.

      As terms go, it’s a bit better than voyeur.

Leave a Reply

