Onward toward healthier eating.

Goat butter. Organic goat butter.

I came across this in the dairy section of Windmill Farms when I was looking at milks, yogurts and what else they had to offer.

Butter is butter. It’s made from the milk fat and I know goats have more fat in their milk than cows. I also know that for those that are lactose intolerant (which I am not) raw cows milk is better than pasturized/homogenized cows milk but goats milk is better than both.

So I bought some.

It’s white, like butter should be. Yes, butter should be white, not yellow. I think no matter what cows butter you buy in the U.S. unless you’re making your own from cream, they do something to it to make it yellow.

I decided to make marshmallow treats. I haven’t had them in maybe two years.

I bought puffed brown rice. I had the goats butter. And they had marshmallows that did NOT have high fructose corn syrup. Yes, they had sugar, but you can’t really avoid that. As unhealthy as marshmallows are, these are as healthy as they’re going to get.

They went really well.

1/4 cup butter, 4 cups marshmallows, 6 cups puffed rice.

Put butter and marshmallows in a large bowl and microwave for 2 min. Stir. Add puffed rice and mix really well. Put into a well greased pan and put in refrigerator.

I licked the spoon and what was left stuck to the bowl. Tasted great to me.

I’ll be taking some over to my parents today to see how they like them.

But so far the goats butter is a great success. Yes, it is a lot more expensive than cow butter and you can’t buy it at the regular grocery store.

But I’m not using butter than much anymore. So for the times I do, I might just switch.

Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.

Buy the best quality ingredients you can and cook your own. I think I’ll be using more goat butter.

Leave a Reply

