Fuck Apple.

I went to the Genius Bar last week because I’m tired of my laptop shutting down without warning before the battery is exhausted.

He said I had a bad battery. $129.00.

I asked if it was defective. He said no, no recalls.

I told him I was going to go home and research it and if I found it was defective and recalled that I’d be back.

Three different serial numbers of A1175 were voluntarily recalled by Apple and mine was one of them.

Fuck Apple.

They knew I had a bad battery and didn’t bother to tell me until after my extended warranty ran out. They just waited, hoping that I wouldn’t notice until it was too late. It’s not like they don’t have my contact information. They send me promotional stuff all the time about buying their shit. And it’s not like they didn’t know I owned a MacBook Pro 15″ that might have a defective battery. They have all of that information on file with the extended warranty.

Nope. They were just hoping that I wouldn’t notice until it was too late.

I have an appointment at the Genius Bar again tomorrow. We’ll see what the store manager has to say. And his boss. And his boss.

Addendum:

It pays to 1. Go to a different store, 2. Go directly to someone in a position of authority, like the manager, 3. Be nice but act a little stupid.

They think all older people are clueless. And women. I’m both so I can use my gender and my age to my advantage.

Did I get a free battery?

No.

But I did get a battery at a discount. $99. And it’s not a reconditioned battery or a third party brand. It’s a genuine Apple battery. I can live with that.

But I’m still pissed I didn’t know about this before 1. the defective replacement battery offer expired (June 2008) or my extended warranty was up (April 2009).

Will I continue to buy Apple? Yes. You just can’t beat the quality of the machines (not the batteries) and the operating system. For productivity, it beats anything else for the average user hand down. You hard core computer geeks that are more enamoured of process rather than product can use PCs and Linux. (And do virus updates every day.)

Leave a Reply

