Okay, I need some help here.

I have not been able to find anything on the internet about this, but I am not crazy. I remember this.

When Jackie Kennedy got engaged to Aristotle Onassis, or maybe shortly after they were married, don’t remember the details, he gave her a pair of gold earrings. Not just any gold earrings. These were hoop earrings in the form of kissing dolphins. And not just any dolphins. They didn’t look like modern dolphins, they looked like ancient Greek dolphins. And there was a reason. The earrings were 2,000 years old. They were ancient earrings. Earrings that would be in a museum. I don’t remember the exact details.

But I do remember that after that there was this craze for dolphin earrings they looked just like Jackie O’s. And there were a plethora of knock-offs from 14kt to gold filled to gold plated. I’m sure vermeil too.

And I can’t find one word about it.

What I’d really like is to buy a pair second hand. I couldn’t afford to at the time. I think I was in junior high or high school and no way my parents could afford to buy them for me either.  But now, I’d like to have a pair.

And no, haven’t found any on eBay either.

I don’t want modern dolphins. I want those reproductions of the ancient Greek kissing dolphin hoop earrings.

Anyone?

Bueller?

Leave a Reply

