Make your own Shrimp Cocktail Sauce.

You can’t buy Shrimp Cocktail Sauce without corn syrup in it. Well, maybe you can but I haven’t found any. I suspect if I went to a store with foreign imports (foreign imports seem to use sugar, not corn syrup) or a natural food store you might find something.

But I went to Windmill Farms and couldn’t find any.

I did manage to find horseradish, Tabasco and Worcestershire without corn syrup. That’s right. You read the label on Lea and Perrins. In the U.S. they use corn syrup. Not so the Lea and Perrins they make in the U.K.

So I made my own Shrimp Cocktail Sauce.

1 1/2 cup catsup ( Von’s Organics – no corn syrup)
2 TBSP prepared horseradish ( Captain Toady’s hardy horseradish sauce)
1 TBSP lemon juice (from my tree’s lemons)
1 TBSP Worcestershire sauce (Annie’s natural organice Worcestershire sauce- vegan)
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
Dash Tobasco sauce (Uncle Dougie’s Lil’ Boom! hot!!! sauce)
Dash Celery Salt (or seed)

Mix, chill to blend flavors – serve with shrimp

It came out pretty good, even though I ate it right away without chilling it and waiting for the flavors to blend. I bet it’s awesome now. I may have to buy some more shrimp.

Leave a Reply

